Pickling Jalapenos and Banana Peppers

I was brainstorming what type of product to pickle, and wanted to go with something that you could eat with a steak, or other meat dish.   I decided to go with pickling Jalapenos that would give most dishes a nice kick.   I looked online to get an idea of what the recipe would require, and found one I liked at Simply Scratch:

INGREDIENTS:

15 large Jalapenos, stems trimmed {discarded} and sliced

2 Garlic Cloves, smashed and peeled

1 cup Distilled White Vinegar

1 cup Filtered Water

4 tablespoons Sugar

2 tablespoons Kosher Salt

 

I modified it a little bit to add Banana Peppers to get a little bit of variety, as well as some colour to the finished product.   I spent some time gathering the ingredients and chopping up the jalapenos and banana peppers.

image6

The recipe called for two garlic cloves, but I added a third because too much garlic is never really a bad thing.

image8

I combined all the ingredient except the peppers into a pot and set it to high to wait for it to boil.

image9

When the water came to a boil, I tossed in the jalapenos and banana peppers, and turned off the heat to let it submerge in the liquid for 15 minutes.   The peppers changed in colour to a dull green and yellow.   I was sure not to overcook the peppers to ensure they retained their crunch.

image10

After tossing everything into the mason jar and letting it cool, I sealed the jar and put it into the fridge.

image11

And here we have the final product!  When trying both the banana peppers and the jalapenos, both came out better than expected for such a simple process.   Both retained a nice crunch when biting into the product, while I noted that the jalapenos were more resilient in the hot water than its banana pepper counterpart.   To be honest, there isnt much I would change to the process as everything came out better than expected.   The sugar to vinegar ratio was spot on to ensure that the peppers were not overpowered by either side.

Seeing how simple the process of pickling was, I hope to try new items in the near future to  compliment the dishes I eat at home.

 

References

McNamara, L. (2013, May 23). Easy Homemade Pickled Jalapeños – Simply Scratch. Retrieved November 13, 2016, from http://www.simplyscratch.com/2013/05/easy-homemade-pickled-jalapenos.html

Leave a Reply

